First month

So….here we are nearly at the end of the first month of our attempt at 100 Days of Real Food. How did I do?

  • I am down 6.6 pounds. Wasn’t really the main focus but I am thrilled to finally have the scale moving in the right direction.
  • We officially made it to Thanksgiving before it all started to unravel. It unraveled because:
    • we got so busy in town that we made poor choices (ie, fast food nastiness)
    • we ran out of grocery money before the end of the month

What did I learn?

  • My family eats *a lot*!! Looking at 100 Days, I was feeling bad that just doubling her amounts for groceries wasn’t giving my family enough food. But I started thinking about it. My teenaged girls are in sports and burning through everything they eat and need additional fuel to keep them going. Two of my boys (21 and 20) work physically demanding jobs with long hours and are also burning through everything they eat. And my youngest boy (18) is working full-time as well as going to college full-time and is also burning through everything he eats. In fact, all three of the boys ended up losing weight this month which wasn’t something they were intending to do–one of them has even had to replace his wardrobe!
  • I need to cook more.
  • I need to actually plan menus instead of winging it.
  • I need to start packing everyone’s lunches again–bento style
  • I need reevaluate my grocery spending. I tried to do nearly all organic this month but I’ve run out of money and we still have a week to go. True, it was a holiday month with higher than normal grocery spending for T-Day. True, my washer broke and we’ve had to use grocery money to pay for the Laundromat. Also true, I would have had grocery money had I not had to come up with money for a sports physical as well as for basketball shoes ($110 total there). But that is true any month–the grocery budget is my only flex category which takes up the slack for other spending I need to do. For the next 3 months, it will be for eye exams and contacts for those of us who need them. It’s just how it is and I need to plan for that.
  • I need to reevaluate how I spend money at the health food stores. I had been ordering through their special ordering system where I can order cases of whatever, which saves money. However, I am finding that there isn’t enough grocery money to do that *and* eat well for the week. Ordering this way kept our  fruits and vegetables to a minimum with little variety.
  • I need to start ordering from Bountiful Baskets again. I’ve ordered through them a lot over the past year but it has been their conventional produce baskets. Last time, I ordered their organic basket. It works out to be $26.50 for a box of produce but I think it will provide the variety we need at a good price. This last basket had:
    • an avocado
    • bananas
    • apples
    • pears
    • kiwi
    • potatoes
    • sweet potatoes
    • onion
    • celery
    • carrots
  • I need to figure out when I have the best chance of getting Great Harvest’s whole wheat bread. The last few times we’ve gone in there, we’ve not been able to get the whole wheat. The white bread is tasty but isn’t as filling we’ve found. And I need to keep my people full.
  • Since I’m going to be ordering Bountiful Baskets again, I need to change my shopping days. Pick up is on Saturdays and what’s in the basket isn’t known until you actually pick it up. Not a big deal…in fact, I like that it’s a surprise every week. But in order to use everything, I will need to pick up the basket, bring it home, and then plan meals around what’s in there.

Today is a new start and I’m glad that we’re back to eating healthy. The last few days made me feel gross. I still won’t have grocery money until the 1st but I’m going to try my best to make this week ‘real food’.

Leave a comment

Filed under Diet

Leave a Reply

