Alzheimer’s Recipe: Green Smoothie Mix

Another of Quinten’s neurologist’s suggestions for possibly slowing down the progression of Alzheimer’s was to increase the number of green leafy veggies into his diet. I have not been great about getting him to eat them. I’ve found that salads seem to bother him and he’s had such awful belly issues anyway that I haven’t been as diligent as I should be. We took a break from the smoothies for a long time but I’m trying to get them back into our diets now. Here is how I do them:

Green Smoothie Mix

2 5 oz packages kale

2.5 cups frozen blueberries

5 medjool dates, seeded

3 bananas

Fill a blender (I use a Vitamix) with baby kale and about 1/2 a cup of water.

Blend, using tamper to push the kale down toward the blades. When you are finished it will look like this:

Continue adding kale and blending until you have used both packages of kale. At this point, I turn my Vitamix up to high and blend for a few seconds to make sure the kale is well blended. Pour kale into an ice cube tray and freeze.

Peel and freeze the bananas in chunks placed on waxed paper. The waxed paper is important. If it’s not used, you will end up chiseling the bananas from whatever you’ve frozen them to.

Once everything is frozen, it’s time to assemble the smoothie mix. Remove the kale from the ice cube tray. You may need to warm the tray up a little under warm water.

Divide the kale ice cubes, banana chunks, frozen blueberries and dates between 5 sandwich bags.

Place each of these baggies into a large freezer bag and freeze.

To use, place contents of one baggie and 1 cup of milk (we’ve used coconut and regular whole milk) and blend until smooth. One serving per bag.

What I really like about these smoothies is the amount of greens I can get into one serving since they break down so much. I’ve also done other greens instead of the kale such as spinach and leaf lettuce. I think I’m going to keep ordering a variety of greens to replenish my freezer stock.

Here are a few links to articles which talk about the importance of leafy vegetables for the prevention of Alzheimer’s:

Livestrong

ABCnews

Science Daily

Leave a comment

Filed under Alzheimer's, Diet, Recipes

Leave a Reply

