Thanksgiving Prep

I thought that I would share my Thanksgiving plan with you over the next few days instead of documenting what we ate. With a family this size, planning and cooking as much as you can ahead of time allows me to enjoy the holiday instead of being locked away in the kitchen for the entire day. Granted, there’s still lots left to do on the big day but it is so, so much better.

My friend, Anne, has a terrific make-ahead recipe for mashed potatoes that I used last year and plan to do the same this year. My only changes are to skip the parmesan cheese (I have parmesan haters here) and to use organic ingredients.  These really are terrific mashed potatoes and I love having the potatoes crossed off the list ahead of time. I seriously suck at making gravy (consistency is never right—it’s either jello or soup) but can get her recipe to turn out each time I’ve made it—and it tastes good.  Again, my only changes are to use organic ingredients and homemade broth from the freezer. I plan to make both of these recipes after my next shopping trip on Friday.

Today, however, I am going to make the cranberry sauce. Homemade cranberry sauce is super easy and tastes so much better than the crap from a can. I also love the color of homemade cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce

Begin by picking over the cranberries and discarding the super smushy ones. Rinse the berries and pour into a saucepan. I had 2 7.5-oz containers of cranberries and ended up picking out about 1/2-3/4 cup of berries.

To the cranberries, add 1/2 cup water and 1/2-3/4 cup honey and bring to boil over medium heat.

While I waited for the cranberries to boil, I filled a pint jar with boiling water. As the cranberries begin to get hot, they will start to pop. Once boiling, continue cooking and stirring over medium heat  for about 5 minutes, or until the cranberry sauce is nice and thick. Remove from heat and smash with a potato masher to make sure all of the cranberries have popped.

My kitchen is freezing this morning–as you can tell from all of the steam in this picture!

If the sauce is too tart at this point, add additional honey to taste. Pour into jar(s). I ended up with a pint jar plus a little.

Allow the sauce to cool to room temperature before refrigerating.

Honey-Sweetened Cranberry Sauce

2 7.5-oz. containers organic cranberries

1/2-3/4 cup honey

1/2 cup water

Begin by picking over the cranberries and discarding the super smushy ones. Rinse the berries and pour into a saucepan. To the cranberries, add 1/2 cup water and 1/2-3/4 cup honey and bring to boil over medium heat. While waiting for the cranberries to boil, fill a pint jar with boiling water and set aside. As the cranberries begin to get hot, they will start to pop. Once boiling, continue cooking and stirring over medium heat  for about 5 minutes, or until the cranberry sauce is nice and thick. Remove from heat and smash with a potato masher to make sure all of the cranberries have popped. If the sauce is too tart at this point, add additional honey to taste. Pour into jar(s).

2 Comments

Filed under Diet, Holidays, Recipes

2 responses to “Thanksgiving Prep

  1. imnotasupermom

    Thanks for the love, Lynnetta! I often leave of the parm as well. It’s gilding the lily most of the time.
    Love your recipe for cranberries! I slice up a clementine orange really thin, peel and all, and cook it up. I’ve never thought about honey or storing it in a canning jar. Must try.
    The sad thing is, I make this wonderful fresh cranberry sauce, but I still have to have the jellied stuff in a can for my mom. Sheesh!

  2. Any time, Anne! Your recipes are too good not to share and I’m forever grateful for your gravy recipe. It really did bug me that I couldn’t figure out gravy of all things.
    So sorry you have to buy the crap in a can for your mom. Up until a month ago, I still had a couple of cans of it in my pantry from when so many orgs showed up at our house a couple of years ago after Quinten’s diagnosis (I found a recipe for a chicken marinade. I don’t recommend it. Crap from a can doesn’t magically turn into something awesome when added to a marinade).

Leave a Reply

