Day 8

We made it one whole week (plus one day) incorporating the 100 Days of Real Food principles!! No fast food, no soda, no sugar (except in the few things like previously homemade jam and that which is included in chocolate chips and spaghetti sauce), no junk. And, other than the fact that we are at the end of the grocery week and running out of staples, it really has been a good week.

Things I’ve learned this week:

  • We go through * a lot * of food in a week! Holy cow!!
  • I did not buy enough fruit and veggies to last the week
  • I use a lot of onions when I cook
  • My kids have forgotten the thankfulness lessons from when they were younger and need a refresher course. They complained A LOT. Given the fact that the youngest are 15, I am seriously unhappy about that.
  • My kids were eating a lot of junk (turns out mom and dad were too) that didn’t register with me since it was such a common occurrence.
  • I can’t eat popcorn anymore. Even the organic stuff gave me a belly ache.
  • It takes much more time spent in the kitchen to cook this way
  • I am thankful I buy in bulk. I ended up using quite a few items out of the pantry
  • I am more than happy to pay $6 a loaf of bread after reading this. Gross, huh? Given the fact that I am highly allergic to feathers, it’s no wonder walking down the bread isle at the store makes me want to vomit from the smell.
  • It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be

Tomorrow will be a challenge sticking to the plan. The girls have a dentist appointment in the morning and since we are trying to conserve gas this time around, I will be going grocery shopping after their appointment instead of going today. I’m hoping we will be able to find something healthy while in town since we will be there at lunchtime and I am out of bread. We’ll see if I end up with any extra time tonight to make some.

Here is what we ate:

Day 7 (Wednesday)

Breakfast:

Eggs cooked in bacon grease, slice of banana bread, coffee

Lunch:

Peanut butter and jelly, water

Snack:

½ soy-free chocolate bar

Dinner:

Bacon-Wrapped chicken breast (recipe to follow), spaghetti with alfredo (to use up cream that was about to go bad), and a green salad with dressing

Day 8 (Thursday)

Breakfast:

Eggs cooked in bacon grease, slice of whole wheat bread, coffee

Lunch:

Almond butter and jelly, dehydrated organic apples, water

Dinner:

I plan to make this and serve a green salad and dressing with it along with home canned beets that my mom brought up for me the last time she visited.

Snack:

I plan to roast some almonds, allow them to cool and mix with chocolate chips.

Recipe:

Bacon Wrapped Chicken Breasts

Oven: 350

4 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut in half

1 (8 oz) package Applegate Farms bacon

Salt, pepper, and smoked paprika

Wrap one piece of bacon around each of the 8 pieces of chicken and place in a baking dish with the ends of the bacon on the bottom so they will stay secure. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, and smoked paprika. Bake, uncovered, for 45 minutes or until the chicken is fully cooked.

Leave a comment

Filed under Alzheimer's, Diet, Recipes

Leave a Reply

