Day 6

I still feel pretty good about our first week so far. We are obviously short on fruit and veggies but I figure that will all get worked out as I’m able to add more to my grocery budget. The last few months have been tough but things do look like they are improving—at least on paper.

Picking up where we left off last post:

Day 5 (Monday):

Breakfast:

Pancakes and coffee

Lunch:

I made a simple soup with the rest of the chicken broth I made this weekend plus the rest of my onions, several carrots, and some penne pasta. This was topped with a bit of parmesan and served with cheddar crackers (recipe to follow), Bubbies sauerkraut, fresh raspberries, and black tea.

Dinner:

Pressure cooker roast, quinoa, green salad with dressing

Snack:

Caramel Corn

Day 6 (Tuesday):

Breakfast:

Pumpkin pancakes

Lunch:

PBJ on whole wheat bread

Snack:

Banana Bread

Dinner:

Spaghetti and noodles with whole wheat bread and butter

Recipe:

 

Cheddar Crackers

So many of the crackers in the store have long lists of ingredients–even the ones labeled organic. I found this recipe in my recipe box. It’s been so long that I’m not sure who the author is. My picky girls loved these and have been asking me to make them again.

1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, shredded (I used Kerrygold)

1/4 cup butter, softened

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp smoked paprika (my addition, the original recipe called for a dash of cayenne and skipped the hot pepper flakes. I like both)

dash Aleppo pepper (or hot pepper flakes), to taste

3/4 cup flour

Mix the butter and cheddar together. Stir in the remaining ingredients until a dough forms. It takes quite a bit of mixing to get all of the ingredients incorporated. Shape into a log that is 1-inch in diameter. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate until chilled (approx. half an hour). Remove from refrigerator, unwrap, and slice into thin slices. Bake on a parchment-lined cookie sheet at 350 degrees for 10 minutes or until just starting to brown. Cool before serving.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Alzheimer's, Diet, Recipes

Leave a Reply

