10/26/12

It seems nearly every day that some news report tells us another food is bad for us/will kill us/is good for us/etc. It’s hard to know what is the best. Years ago, I adopted a vegetarian diet which then morphed into a vegan diet–all because that was supposedly the “right” way to eat. I ended up gaining 30 pounds and it set me on a track to further weight gain it seems.

Then, I did whole grains. “Because it’s healthy.” I developed a severe allergy to wheat (itchy throat, wheezing, coughing) after making my own bread with freshly ground wheat. I am now able–more than 5 years later–to eat white flour products but whole grains still provoke a reaction on a smaller scale than in the past. I know I should go gluten-free again but the budget keeps getting in the way.

For a long time, I just said “screw it” and didn’t worry too much about what we ate. That obviously wasn’t the best path to take but I just couldn’t figure out what really was healthy. I still don’t know but I can’t seem to escape studies that implicate what we eat in too many of the diseases/disorders that my family is dealing with.

I already know that I can’t afford Paleo even though it is likely the best diet for my family. Yesterday I spent a good chunk of my day searching the internet for a good diet. I can’t even remember what exactly it was that I was searching for but I do know that I ended up clicking from one blog to another and ended up on 100 Days of Real Food and spent a good portion of my day there.

A lot of what I read was stuff I already knew. Like so much of my life, I’m great at the research but suck at the implementation. What really spoke to me was her 100 Days on a Budget. Her budget was $125 a week for her family of 4  for good, whole foods and it was very interesting to me to read her posts from that time. I wonder if we can be as successful and I’d really like to try. I downloaded one of her menu plans and tried to make up a grocery budget. I do not think I’m going to be as successful–even doubling her $125 a week for our family of 7 is not going to cut it–looking at pics she’s posted, she is feeding 2 adults and 2 little ones and I’m feeding 7 adults.

I’m going to take the rest of the month to use up the non-whole foods items and refine my plan. I’m not sure I have everything planned out enough. On the 1st of November, I am going to try this 100 Days of Real Food. In the last year, Quinten’s disability has been reduced by $600+ a month, with $300 of that coming in the last couple of months. As a result, the boys (21, 20, 18…all of whom are working at least part-time) have been pitching in to help with the groceries. One of my goals is to avoid asking them to contribute more. I really hope I will be able to pull this off.

Something’s gotta work eventually, right?

Leave a comment

Filed under Diet

Leave a Reply

