Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream

It’s menu-planning and grocery list day today. And, oh, how I hate it! 7 people, 3 meals plus snacks for 14 days plus anything else that needs to be worked into the budget like laundry soap.  I suppose I should stop complaining about it and just do it. And I should be glad that it’s a 14-day menu this time instead of one that’s 21 days. And I’m definitely thankful that I have more grocery budget than I did last time.

It’s been so hot here lately. 102 at 9 am is something that I do not like one bit. I’ve never done well in the heat—especially heat like this. As a result, we work hard to keep the house cool and that means planning meals which require little use of the stove or oven. Since the heat wave doesn’t look to be breaking soon, look for lots of salads and grilling on my menu plan when it’s posted later this week.

In honor of all of this heat, I’m posting my Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream recipe. I’m positive it has waaayyy more carbs than is good for me but I still feel that it is a better choice than regular ice cream since it contains no sugar.  Enjoy!

 

Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream

  • 2/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter, or other nut butter
  • ¼ cup maple syrup
  • 1 TB vanilla
  • Dash salt
  • 1 can organic coconut milk

Melt the chocolate chips in the microwave on high for 1 minute. Stir until smooth. Depending on your microwave, you may need more time. You want to be careful though as chocolate chips burn easily in the microwave.  Stir in the peanut butter, stirring until well mixed. Add in the maple syrup, vanilla, and salt. Slowly pour in the coconut milk and stir until completely combined. Pour into an ice cream maker and process until frozen. Serves 6.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

