Stuffed Egg Cups

Whenever I started a diet in the past (and there have been many, many times), I would add Jimmy Dean’s Delight’s to my breakfasts. However, the last time I had them the English muffin part made my throat itch.  I went several years without wheat due to that symptom but my diet was still pretty atrocious. Nachos, while technically gluten free, aren’t a nutritional powerhouse. When I added wheat back into my diet, I could have some of the processed white flour products but whole wheat still made my throat itch. I thought I was cured. <eyeroll>

These egg cups are my paleo-ish (skip the cheese to make these paleo) sub for those English muffin egg sandwiches.

I was making egg cups using a recipe found elsewhere which featured eggs and green chiles but those did not keep my crew full for very long. I played around with the recipe and came up with the following which works better at keeping us full for longer.

Stuffed Egg Cups

Oven: 375 degrees

Makes: 24 egg cups, serves 12

  • 18 eggs
  • ½ tsp. seasoned salt
  • ½ tsp. garlic powder
  • ½ tsp. ground black pepper
  • 3 TB coconut flour
  • 2 TB chopped cilantro
  • ½ cup chopped salami or bacon
  • ½ cup chopped mushrooms
  • 4 oz. grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 4-oz. can chopped green chiles

Beat eggs, salt, garlic, pepper, and coconut flour in large bowl until smooth. The coconut flour has a tendency to clump so it works best to sprinkle it in a little at a time, beating well.

Line 2 cookie sheets with 24 silicone baking cups (paper muffin cups really don’t work well at all). Divide the cilantro, meat, mushrooms, chiles, and cheese between the 24 baking cups. Divide egg mixture among the cups and give each cup a quick stir.

Bake in a 375-degree oven for 20 minutes. Allow to cool slightly before unmolding from the silicone cups. The egg cup will deflate onto itself a bit. Allow to cool completely on a wire rack before refrigerating. These cups freeze well. Remove from freezer the night before you want to use them and refrigerate.

To reheat: microwave for 40 seconds on high.

3 Comments

Filed under Diet, Recipes

3 responses to “Stuffed Egg Cups

  1. Jereme's Kitchen

    What a great idea!

  2. Yum! I need to get some of those silicone thingies!

    • I got mine from Amazon. For some reason, the triangle cups are a bit more non-stick than the round ones. Either way, they are SO much better than paper! 🙂

Leave a Reply

