Green Chicken and Grilled Zucchini

Dinner was awesome tonight, if I do say so myself. Quinten complimented it several times so I plan to incorporate it into our weekly menu.  Once again, I am trying recipes (or one tonight anyway) from Nom Nom Paleo.

The recipe I tried tonight is Grilled Green Chicken. It truly was phenomenal and such a nice change from my normal marinated chicken.

IMAG0304-1
Because my kids are teenagers + now, food that is Shrek green isn’t an immediate draw anymore. However, they liked it once they got past the colors. I didn’t add all of the fish sauce since the one and only other time I’d used it, we couldn’t eat the dinner. I used maybe 1.5 teaspoons. I also forgot to use the maple syrup. I also didn’t have any bone-in chicken so I used chicken breast and added ¼ cup olive oil to the marinade in order to keep the chicken from sticking to the grill.

In addition to the chicken, we had marinated grilled zucchini. After years of gardening, my kids absolutely hate zucchini in any way, shape, or form. Quinten and I loved it. More for us. 😉

IMAG0298-1
Here is how I made it tonight:

Marinated Grilled Zucchini

  • Zest from half a lime
  • Juice from 2 limes (if also making the green chicken, use the lime juice from the lime you used in that recipe)
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 2 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 2 garlic cloves, run through the microplaner
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning

Wash and trim the zucchini and slice each one in half lengthwise. On each zucchini half, run your paring knife in an S pattern, being careful not to cut all the way through the skin. This will allow the marinade to soak into the zucchini a little better.
IMAG0299-1
IMAG0300

Place zucchini in ziplock bag and pour marinade into bag. Place in refrigerator until ready to grill. When the grill is hot, place zucchini on grill skin side down. Once the zucchini starts to get a little soft, turn over to grill on other side. Continue cooking and turning until zucchini is fork-tender.

IMAG0305-1

Leave a comment

Filed under Diet

Leave a Reply

