Coconut Oil

I hope to post the various dietary measures we are taking to help fight Quinten’s Alzheimer’s. His neurologist is great about researching what is out there that might help. She’s had several suggestions that I’m still working to incorporate.

Quinten takes Axona daily which is in the form of a shake. It is by-prescription only and is derived from coconut oil. In addition to this, we had already been using coconut oil on a daily basis. It has replaced butter and olive oil in my cooking for the most part. It took a while to get used to it, but I now actually prefer my eggs cooked in coconut oil.

The Medium Chain Triglycerides (MCTs) are thought to be the active ingredient in coconut oil which is providing the memory improvement in patients with Alzheimer’s. Caprylic Acid is the MCT in coconut oil which converts to ketones in the body and provides the brain with an easily used energy source. Because ketones are easily used by the brain, I’ve wondered if a lower-carb diet would improve Quinten’s functioning. This is one reason that I am looking at the Paleo diet.

Here are some articles about coconut oil:

Livestrong

Finding a cure for Alzheimer’s disease, a fatal and progressive disorder, is as mysterious and complex as the disease itself. The escalation of this form of dementia has risen dramatically in the past decade, according to the Alzheimer’s Association website. While research lacks scientific confidence, coconut oil’s properties show a gleam of hope for some with the frightening disease.”

When Dr. Newport couldn’t get her husband into a drug trial for a new Alzheimer’s medication, she started researching the mechanism behind Alzheimer’s.She discovered that with Alzheimer’s disease, certain brain cells may have difficulty utilizing glucose (made from the carbohydrates we eat), the brain’s principal source of energy. Without fuel, these precious neurons may begin to die. There is an alternative energy source for brain cells—fats known as ketones. If deprived of carbohydrates, the body produces ketones naturally.

The Coconut Diet

The role of diet in Alzheimer’s disease (AD) is continuing to make strong headlines here in 2011 as hundreds of millions of dollars in drug research have yet to produce any significant cure. One of the latest studies published appeared in the European Journal of Internal Medicine: “Nutrition and Alzheimer’s disease: The detrimental role of a high carbohydrate diet”1.

4 Comments

Filed under Alzheimer's, Diet

4 responses to “Coconut Oil

  1. I love coconut oil! Although I do find it difficult to scarf down my eggs that are cooked in it, but I have a very sensitive palate and it’s just overwhelmingly coconutty.

  2. Carianne hatch

    Have you read The Paleo Solution- by Robb Wolf? I have not read it but my bro Chris has. The guy is a bio chemist or something like that. Breaks down all the reasons why paleo is good and the reasons for eating or not eating certain things.

  3. Hi, Carianne! Yes, I have read The Paleo Solution. I liked it a lot and I really do hope that I can implement the diet. Another good book is Deep Nutrition: Why Your Genes Need Traditional Foods by Catherine Shanahan MD. That was the last “fun” book I read (a year ago!). Eyeroll. Six classes and I can read what I want!

Leave a Reply

